Constantly Curious - Edition #10

Podcast Listens, Twitter Hacks, World's Greatest Art & More

Welcome to Constantly Curious, Edition #10 (6/22/2023)!

The idea here is simple: each week, I will curate the most interesting articles, tweets, videos, ideas, people or hacks that I’ve come across and send them (via this newsletter) directly to your inbox.

The WINNERS of the SSAC x CC giveaway have been contacted - THANK YOU for participating!

With that said, let’s get into it -

A Question To Ask Yourself

This snip appears at the end of a song from the hip-hop artist Logic, called The Incredible True Story. I first heard it years ago, and it stuck with me right away. I specifically remember wondering, “who is this, and why is his voice so hypnotic?”

Turns out, its a quote from Alan Watts, a brilliant, modern-day philosopher (learn about him HERE).

I’d encourage you to listen to this snip, and ask yourself:

What do I desire?

Podcast Episodes I Listened to This Week

This week, a lot of my favorite podcasts (some of which I’ve featured in prior CC’s - HERE) dropped episodes that really caught my eye. Here are the 3 that really stood out…

  1. My First Million: How Rob Dyrdek Went From $15m to $350m in 5 Years - I do not say this lightly…this was one of my favorite podcasts episodes of the year. Full Stop. Hearing Rob get into a groove explaining business, health, and everything in-between was incredible; he OOZES energy in every word. Listen to this!!!

  2. Huberman Lab Podcast: Tim Ferriss - How to Learn Better and Create Your Best Future - Tim Ferriss is one of my professional role models, so anytime he makes a guest appearance outside of his own show, I tune in. I’m about halfway through this episode, and I’m loving the way Dr. Huberman is guiding the conversation through Tim’s general mental models/frameworks, the processes through which Tim wrote his books, etc.

  3. Nick Bare Podcast - How Sam Parr Retired with Over $20 Million - This was a podcast collaboration I never expected to happen, and I was super pumped when it popped into my feed. Nick Bare is an awesome creator/entrepreneur in the fitness/health/supplement space, and this episode dives deep into Sam’s personal experiences scaling and exiting his business(s). This was a really insightful listen.

Twitter Hack You Need to Be Using -Twitter Lists

I constantly feel like the Twitter UI/UX is changing: whether it’s the algorithm itself, ads, For You, Twitter Blue, etc., it can be hard to keep things consistent.

I think Twitter Lists are an extremely valuable, yet underutilized, way to “cut through the noise” in your timeline

You can use Twitter lists to curate only a select group of people (by topic, domain, sport, geographic location, etc.), and then view Twitter’s timeline through the content from those folks only.

Further, you can pin your lists within Twitter itself, allowing you to swipe between For You, Following, and lists.

The best part about this feature is that lists are PUBLIC! If your favorite creator, writer, etc. has created a list, you can view (and follow!) the very same list.

Check out the lists I follow/made HERE.

YouTube Channel Teaching Me About The World’s Greatest Art

Great Art Explained is exactly what it sounds like - videos explaining everything you’d want to know about the world’s greatest art.

So far, I’ve watched THIS video about Jean-Michel Basquiat’s Untitled (Skull),

 

THIS video on Vincent Van Gogh’s Starry Night,

and THIS video of Nighthawks by Edward Hopper

The videos are pretty short (typically 15 minutes or so) and jam-packed with value. With 1.5m subscribers, it seems like many others agree!

That’s it for this week’s Constantly Curious.

What did you think? ALL feedback is welcome. Additionally, if you read/watched something you think I would like - PLEASE send it my way.

Stay Curious, Friends.

-Nick

Join the conversation

or to participate.